Our History and Life Members

The “Tall Timbers” Centre was founded in 1972 by Mrs Pearl Batchelor, OAM, and was operated at her riding school in West Pennant Hills.  The first group of children to start riding were from Northcott Society and Crowle Home.

In 1976, due to impending development, 5 acres with a cottage (which was occupied by the first Coach/Horse Manager), with horse yards, was purchased in Kellyville in North West Sydney.  Shortly after arriving in Kellyville, “Tall Timbers” began leasing the 25 acres backing on to the property, from the Government.

Over the years a further 10 acres was purchased and an amenities block, indoor arena and stable block were added to the already existing yards and outdoor arena.  This made a total of 15 acres owned by RDA NSW and 25 acres leased.

At the end of 1999, once again “Tall Timbers” moved and again this was due to the major development taking place in Kellyville.  This time it was to Box Hill where it is hoped that RDA will be able to settle for many, many years and that suburbia will not once again push the Centre further out!  

The improved facilities were officially opened on 26th April 2008 by Sonya Phillips, Mayor of Baulkham Hills Shire Council.


  • JOYCE HARVEY               date unknown
  • MARGIE RANDALL           JULY 1995
  • GRAHAM RANDALL          JULY 1995
  • SHIRLEY SCOTT               NOVEMBER 1999
  • JOAN EDWARDS              NOVEMBER 1999
  • JAN MORAN                     DECEMBER 1999
  • RAEMA WALKER             DECEMBER 1999
  • JENNY DENBY                 MAY 2000
  • LESLIE PICKERING          MARCH 2001
  • DOUG DENBY                  MARCH 2001
  • MARY ARNOLD                MARCH 2001
  • ROBYN GIVEN                  APRIL 2002
  • KAREN O’NEILL                NOVEMBER 2006
  • JANET MUSPRATT           NOVEMBER 2007
  • KERRY SOUTER                APRIL 2008
  • PIP LOVELY                       NOVEMBER 2010
  • CARMEL NORRIS             DECEMBER 2011
  • JOHN NORRIS                  DECEMBER 2011
  • NICOLE KING                    MARCH 2015
  • CHANIDA THEW               MARCH 2021
  • KIRSTY HARDMAN           DECEMBER 2021
  • FRAN PRUDAMES             MARCH 2024